Next week is Dawg’s 11th birthday…

old_dog_cartoonSince few Bouvs live past 12 or 13 years, I find myself noticing little things, like how Dawg’s hindquarters shake when he first stands up after a nap.  Or the way Dawg seems to be spending a lot more time sleeping these days.  Or the fact that his “bad days” (days when his spine twists into a pretzel and makes him unable to stand) are coming more frequently.

I guess I’m trying to prepare myself for the day when Dawg won’t be underfoot and in the way any more.  I don’t want to forget to enjoy his time with me now, but I can’t seem to stop thinking about the time to come.  For awhile it looked like he might outlast me — that was a completely different worry, since he’s never known any other partner than me.  But my health is holding steady, while his, very obviously, isn’t.

Some of the things he does for me can be done by a machine.  But there’s no machine out there that can replace his companionship.  I have a feeling this is my last service dog.  The parting is just too hard…

 

About Daddy Bear

I'm old and grouchy -- don't push it! I've got a long, pointless, and boring story, & I'm not afraid to tell it...and tell it...and tell it...
This entry was posted in Rollin' along and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Next week is Dawg’s 11th birthday…

  1. Elyse says:

    These years or months can be so hard. But you don’t know when it’s going to go south. We thought our previous dog, Cooper, would go “any day now” for over three years!. It was a long, hard time. Try to enjoy what you have is my advice!

  2. PiedType says:

    Give him a couple of extra pats for me.

Comments are closed.