What a week! (part one)

On Tuesday morning I went to bed as usual, then woke up a couple of hours later, already deep in an insulin reaction.  Dawg wasn’t anywhere around to warn me because he’d been banned from the bedroom that morning (he was being incredibly gassy, and pointing it at my head!).  Although I keep glucose tablets by my bedside, my brain wasn’t functioning, and I tried to get out of bed and go to the kitchen.  I was going to make myself a peanut butter sandwich, but didn’t make it.  I fell back into bed and passed out.

My wife and I had planned a family supper that evening and when She woke me up, I realized that I was missing about 6 hours.  That’s the longest black-out so far.  (When I told Her what had happened, my wife said, “You’re the only guy I know who can pass out while sleeping.”  Well, at least I’m special!)   Fortunately in the meantime my liver had done its job and secreted enough glucose to get my brain working again.  That whole evening is pretty much a blur due to the after-effects of the reaction, but I think I can safely say that we’ve isolated the problem.

It looks like I’m going to have to be much more careful in exactly how much insulin I take, and when I take it.  You see, for the past 30 years I’ve been taking two kinds of insulin: one works quickly and is taken with meals, while the other works slowly over a 28-hour stretch.  The longer-acting insulin is supposed to even out my glucose levels between meals.  Naturally, if I take the long-acting insulin at same time each day there’s some overlap, but the effects of the old shot wearing off while the new shot starts to take effect are such that the amount of insulin available is supposed to stay fairly steady.

My new problem seems to happen when I take both types close together.  There is an initial rush of insulin action about two hours after I take the long-acting shot.  Lately it seems that the two-hour rush of the long-acting insulin is combining with my quick-acting shot to drop the bottom out of my glucose levels.  That’s something new.  But one of the things every diabetic will tell you is: the disease constantly evolves.  You never know exactly what it will do to you next.

Some days it’s so much fun to be me I can’t stand it…

BloodSugar

About Daddy Bear

I'm old and grouchy -- don't push it! I've got a long, pointless, and boring story, & I'm not afraid to tell it...and tell it...and tell it...
This entry was posted in Rollin' along and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.