Life in the slow lane

Abe_simpsonI tend to rest during the day, since my wife is currently on swing shift, so I can be alert when she comes home.  Of course, alert is a relative term for me.  Because my sleep disorder messes up my memory, I seldom know what day it is until I look at the date stamp on the computer.  And I often forget to check the computer.

For example, last Monday I had to call the vet to renew Dawg’s thyroid meds.  I managed to crawl out of bed at 4:55 pm to make the call (they close at 5:30).  One of my pet peeves is that businesses often “turn off” their phones 15-30 minutes before actual closing time so that they don’t have to stay late doing all the stuff they do at the end of the day.  I find it offensive and obnoxious and tend to get offensive and obnoxious in return.  Sure enough, I got the “night desk” (a recording giving the hours they are open and telling me to call back then).  Since there was an option to leave a message, I did just that.  I not only told them what I needed, I also gave them a piece of my mind about the “early closing” practice of some businesses.

The whole time I was leaving the pissy message, a voice in the back of my head kept saying “Don’t do this.  You really don’t want to do this.  Or at least hang up and don’t give them you name.”  But since I find it difficult to be polite with people I think are being rude, I plowed straight ahead.  The moment I hung up I sat down at the computer.  Guess what?  It was Sunday, not Monday.

I guess I’ll have to find a new vet for Dawg now…

About Daddy Bear

I'm old and grouchy -- don't push it! I've got a long, pointless, and boring story, & I'm not afraid to tell it...and tell it...and tell it...
This entry was posted in Rollin' along and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life in the slow lane

  1. Snoring Dog Studio says:

    OOPS. I feel for you, though. I hate the phone and I tend to behave less politely when I have to deal with businesses that way. Can you find a vet that has an automatic refill service? That’s so much more convenient than having to call each time.

    • Daddy Bear says:

      I’m fortunate enough to have one of the country’s best vets (he’s been featured in several books and articles) who, no matter how obscure my service dog’s complaint, knows about its history, testing, new meds, the works. Plus he’s a caring, personable person as well. So I’m willing to put up with not having automatic refills to stay with him.
      BTW: when I went to pick up the meds, the staff pretended that I hadn’t made an ass of myself on the phone. That’s worth something as well…
      😀

Comments are closed.