Worth every ouchie…

I started out in music very young.  By the age of 10 I was playing professionally, and by the time I got out of the service, I’d cut a record.  So you could say that music was a big part of my life.  My wife was a music major when she went to college, so you can imagine that music was always important to her as well.  Unfortunately, my arthritis won’t let me play my guitar or violin anymore.  I still write music on the computer, but it’s not the same, and my wife’s nursing career gives her little time to indulge, although she has a cello that she plays when she can.

Even though she’s quite a bit younger than I am, we both like the same types of music: jazz, blues, and rock ‘n roll.  A few weeks back, however, I realized that we’d only been to one concert together (the Koto Drummers), and that was ages ago.

So last month I made a date with my wife to go see the Fab Four.  At that time I was practically bedridden from the pain in my knees, but I felt that this was something I needed to do, no matter how I felt.  I even bought the tickets then so that I couldn’t back out.  (My family history is Scotch, so you can understand how much it would pain me to have to throw good tickets away.)  And, as it turns out, I’ve been steadily improving since my last doctor’s appointment, so the knees weren’t even an issue.

The band, a Beatles tribute group, was in town for one gig only, so Friday night we loaded up the van and took off.  We left home 90 minutes early for a 20 minute drive (Friday night traffic is murder in Dallas) and we barely got there in time.  I opted to use canes because a wheelchair is useless when you have seats reserved right up front, and crutches take up too much room when you’re seated.  The only thing I was worried about was my overactive bladder, but that also turned out to not be a problem.  I had an aisle seat so that I could stick my legs out into traffic if necessary (to ease the cramping I get when I have to hold them in one position), so everything was set up perfect.

I am happy to report that the night was fantastic.  The band was exceptional, the music delightful, and my wife applauded enough for both of us (slapping arthritic hands together is not something you really want to do).  Even though today I’m paying for it with swollen joints, twinges, and such, I don’t care.  It was worth it.

We are definitely going to have to do this again.   And I won’t wait so long this time, I promise.

About Daddy Bear

I'm old and grouchy -- don't push it! I've got a long, pointless, and boring story, & I'm not afraid to tell it...and tell it...and tell it...
This entry was posted in Rollin' along and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Worth every ouchie…

  1. momshieb says:

    Good for you for getting out there! My husband and I keep saying that we need to get back into hearing live music more; we only seem to do it when our kids coax us. We went with our sons to see the Duhks last summer. Fabulous night!!

Comments are closed.