That’s one problem less

SitAs I predicted, Dawg has been on the short leash since the great fall.  My wife wasn’t happy with the short leash that I use, so I bought another.  It’s really the same leash with a different cover, but she’s happy now.  (As my uncle Julius used to say, “Every cook has to piss in the soup to make it taste right.”  Uncle Julius drank a lot, you know.)

So far, neither of us have had any further trouble with Dawg since we went to the “shorty”.  It’s not that he hasn’t tried to bolt, it’s that he can’t get any momentum going.  So there’s hope that we’ve got that problem under control.

Dawg had his annual check-up recently.  There was a new, young vet at the clinic, and, as is my custom, I picked his brain about Dawg’s vomiting problem.  He suggested a drug that might help.  It’s not too expensive, and it’s been around forever without showing any side-effects, so I’m going to try it.  It strengthens the ring of muscle at the top of the stomach so that acid and stuff doesn’t slosh back up into the esophagus so easily.   Slowly but surely, we’re working our way through the pharmacy.  Eventually we’ll either find something that helps or run out of stuff to try.

The drug’s for a disease that Dawg doesn’t have, so we’re treating the symptom rather than the problem.  (Of course, we’d treat the problem if anyone could figure out what that is.) Still, if it improves his life, it’s worth it.  How can you not do everything in your power to make a friend feel better?

About Daddy Bear

I'm old and grouchy -- don't push it! I've got a long, pointless, and boring story, & I'm not afraid to tell it...and tell it...and tell it...
This entry was posted in Rollin' along and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That’s one problem less

  1. momshieb says:

    I discovered the joy of the “short leash” after my dogs pulled me down while trying to bolt after a cat. I became a human luge for about 20 feet and ended up with all the skin on my knees and chin removed. Ouch, in a big way! Now I keep them on really short leashes, and pull them in even closer if they show any signs of chasing anything! Good luck!

Comments are closed.