Poor baby

Dawg’s been feeling poorly lately.  It seems that two or three times a year he decides to get sicky, and the vet can’t figure out what’s causing it.  Last week was a perfect example.

On Monday he  laid down after breakfast and morning walkies as usual, then he suddenly got up, went to his favorite “sick” corner, and threw up.  (He’s very nice about it.  He has a spot over in the corner of the room, away from everything where he prefers to get sick.)  The rest of the day, every time he ate anything, he vomited it up later.  But he stayed happy all day and stayed interested in food.  He just couldn’t keep it down.

On Tuesday he lost interest in food, which is very unusual for him (except when he’s sick).  He seemed quite happy, otherwise, and drank plenty of water.

On Wednesday Dawg stopped being happy and started throwing up water.  We kept close watch to make certain he didn’t dehydrate, and continued to wait.

On Thursday he started throwing up bile (the only thing left in his system).  He stayed hydrated by licking ice, but wasn’t a happy doggy.  He mostly slept all day.

On Friday, just before we called the vet, Dawg decided he was well.  We started him back on solid food (a tiny bit of boiled chicken and a teaspoon of yogurt, fed every couple of hours) which he loved and ate like it was the best thing he’d ever seen.  No more throwing up.  I talked to the vet to document the episode, but, since he’s seen Dawg several times for this weirdness, he trusted us to keep a close watch on him and told us to only bring Dawg in if he took a turn for the worse.

Now, before you decide to call SPCA because I didn’t take him to the vet, you should know that I’ve tried taking Dawg to the vet immediately when he throws up the first time, and after one day of throwing up, and after three days of throwing up — and each time, the doctor watches the dog all day, gives him a bolus to keep him hydrated, sometimes gives him a shot to settle his stomach, does tests, and sends him home, “cured”.  Dawg doesn’t run a temperature, blood cultures don’t show any problem, and what he throws up doesn’t contain any weird or foreign objects.  And there’s no “set” timetable for his episodes, and it’s not seasonal.  Our vet is very good at what he does.  In fact, he’s famous.  But this has everyone stumped.

Each time I try not to panic, but it’s difficult.  No one wants to see their friend in trouble.  Since he “gets well” immediately when I take him to the vet, you’re probably wondering why I don’t just do that and get it over with.  The answer is: money.   The vet is the best there is, but he doesn’t work for free.  In fact, the best doesn’t come cheap.  An all-day vet stay, with resulting x-rays, blood tests, shots, IV’s, and the occasional expert consultant runs anywhere from $500 to $1,500.  I live on a fixed income.  I don’t take myself to the doctor unless I’m pretty sure I’m dying, and I have insurance.

Frankly, I’m about at the end of my rope.  I just don’t know what to do.  The next episode could come in a week or in six months.  Internet research hasn’t helped.  Consultants haven’t helped.  I’m very observant but I can’t figure out a pattern.  I don’t want my baby to be sick.  I don’t want him to hurt.  I want to fix it, and I can’t.  I guess this is how my wife feels when I’m not well.  Helpless.  I don’t like it.

About Daddy Bear

I'm old and grouchy -- don't push it! I've got a long, pointless, and boring story, & I'm not afraid to tell it...and tell it...and tell it...
This entry was posted in Rollin' along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poor baby

  1. momshieb says:

    Aw, I’m so sorry about Dawg. As an owner of two dogs myself, I know how awful it is when they are hurt or sick. Its worse than having a sick child, because the poor dog can’t even explain.
    Just one thought; you don’t have any toxic weeds or plants around where you live, do you? I’m sure you’ve already thought of it, but it just popped into my head.

    • Daddy Bear says:

      Yes, we checked for that, but I found out a long time ago that it never hurts to have someone point out the obvious. It’s amazing how often that sort of thing is overlooked.

      • momshieb says:

        Glad that isn’t the issue, and glad that you didn’t take offense at my suggestion! We recently spend 5,000 on our dog, Sadie, testing for every possible allergic reaction that might be causing her skin lesions. Turned out to be ringworm, treatable with athlete’s foot cream! Happy that she’s well, sad that it cost so much. I hope that you find a simple and inexpensive cause for Dawg’s bad days.

Comments are closed.